Jane Austen Brief Life Biography Works / Books Jane Austen Movies / TV Life Timeline Jane Austen Quotes Authors Like Jane

Complete Works of Jane Austen

Books and Juvenilia

The Books and Literary Works of English Author Jane Austen.

Jane Austen completed only six official works during her lifetime. While this may present something of a seemingly limited representation of her talents, today each work is well-known and recognized around the globe, highly regarded for their clear messages delivered by a memorable cast of characters. No doubt her actual life and personal interactions benefited her writing prowess for each work takes on a life of its own.

The listing below (ordered by publication date) covers Jane Austen's six completed novels (note that two were published after her death), her two unfinished novels, and her 'Juvenilia;'stories. Despite her short time behind the writing desk, Jane Austen remains one of the most well-known and admired writers in literary history.

Where Should I Start?
If you're new to Austen's work, Persuasion is the shortest read and should provide you with a good foundation for her writing style. It comes in at just 24 chapters. Her more 'classic' works are Pride & Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, and Emma - which are 61, 50, and 55 chapters, respectively - and are more consistently turned into live-action movies and television miniseries.
Sense & Sensibility
Pride & Prejudice
Mansfield Park
Northanger Abbey*
* These works were published posthumously (after death).
** This work was left unfinished at the time of the author's death.
Based on our statistics, the order of popularity (from most to least) for the novels in modern times is as follows: Pride & Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, Persuasion, Emma, Northanger Abbey, and Mansfield Park.

Juvenilia Stories:
Lady Susan (unfinished)

From Juvenilia:

  Volume the First
    Jack and Alice
    Henry and Eliza
  Volume the Second
    Love and Friendship
    The History of England
  Volume the Third
    Catharine; or, The Bower

Site Disclaimer  |  Privacy Policy  |  Cookies

Read Pride & Prejudice Read Sense & Sensibility Read Emma Read Persuasion Read Mansfield Park Read Northanger Abbey Works of Elizabeth Gaskell Sherlock and Watson

©2024 www.JaneAusten.org • Content ©2008-2024 JaneAusten.org • All Rights Reserved. The JaneAusten.org logo, its written content, and watermarked photographs/imagery are unique to this website (unless where indicated) and is protected by all applicable domestic and international intellectual property laws. This resource uses publically-released information. No endorsement of this site by any government or political group should be implied. Information found across this site, verified through publicly available sources, is assumed to be accurate at the time of publication. Material presented throughout this website is for historical and entertainment value only. Please direct all inquiries to janeaustenorg AT gamil.com. No A.I. was used in the generation of this content.

©2024 www.JaneAusten.org • All Rights Reserved • Content ©2008-2024 (16yrs)