JaneAusten.org logo
Picture of Jane Austen's Writing Desk

The Complete Works of Jane Austen

Despite only six completed books to her name, Jane Austen nonetheless remains a lasting presence in the world of English literature.

Entry last updated on 04/16/2018; Authored by Renee Warren; Content ©www.JaneAusten.org

Jane Austen completed only six official works during her lifetime. While this may present something of a seemingly limited representation of her talents, today each work is well-known and recognized around the globe, highly regarded for their clear messages delivered by a memorable cast of characters. No doubt her actual life and personal interactions benefited her writing prowess for each work takes on a life of its own.

The listing below covers Jane Austen's six completed novels (of note is that two of them were actually published after her death), her two unfinished novels and her "Juvenilia" stories. Despite her short time behind the writing desk, Jane Austen remains one of the most well-known and admired writers in literary history.

Jane Austen's Official Works (1811-1817):

* These works were published posthumously (after death).
** this work was left unfinished at the time of the author's death.

Based on our certain statistical sources, the order of popularity (from most to least) for the novels in modern times is as follows: Pride & Prejudice, Sense & Sensibility, Persuasion, Emma, Northanger Abbey and Mansfield Park.

Juvenilia Stories:
Lady Susan (unfinished)
From Juvenilia:

     Volume the First
          Jack and Alice
          Henry and Eliza
     Volume the Second
          Love and Friendship
          The History of England¬†
     Volume the Third
          Catharine; or, The Bower